Pathology and Biorepository Core
Scott Jewell, Ph.D.
Core director

Dr. Jewell earned his Master’s degree and Ph.D. in experimental pathology and immunology from The Ohio State University. He served at Ohio State as director for the Human Tissue Resource Network and as associate director of the OSU Comprehensive Cancer Center’s Biorepository and Biospecimen Resource, where his dedicated, creative efforts led to the development of a state-of-the-art tissue procurement and biorepository system. He was elected President of the International Society for Biological and Environmental Repositories (ISBER) for 2009–2010 and joined Van Andel Research Institute in 2010 as a professor and as director of the Program for Technologies and Cores and of the Program for Biospecimen Science. He is currently a member of the College of American Pathologist’s (CAP) Biorepository Accreditation Program and the editorial board of the journal Biopreservation and Biobanking.

Galen Hostetter, M.D.
Associate core director

Dr. Hostetter received his M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania in 1993. He is board certified in pathology and his research throughout the past 15 years has focused on colorectal cancer and spans a range of genomic and protein-based assays for molecular characterization of clinical samples. He was a staff pathologist at TGen from 2003 to 2011 and directed the Tissue Microarray (TMA) service center and pathology services. He supports basic science research through the validation of candidate biomarkers using a range of clinical derived materials, including cell lines, fresh frozen or paraffin tissues. His laboratory also qualified clinical samples for downstream DNA, RNA species and protein applications.

Dan Rohrer, B.S., MBA
Director of operations, Program for Biospecimen Science

Read More

Dan received a B.S. in biology from Bob Jones University and his MBA from The Ohio State University Fisher College of Business. He has more than 17 years experience in biorespository and laboratory operations with extensive bench experience in tissue procurement.

Prior to joining VARI in 2010, Dan was employed with The Ohio State University Department of Pathology for 11 years. While there, he served as the coordinator for the Cancer and Leukemia Group B’s (CALGB) Pathology Coordinating Office (PCO) as well as the biobank manager of the AIDS and Cancer Specimen Resource (ACSR). Dan currently serves as the director of operations for VARI’s Program for Biospecimen Science.

Dana Valley, B.A., ASQ CMQ/OE, CSSGB
Operations and quality manager

Read More

Dana holds a B.A. in sociology from Western Michigan University and is an ASQ Certified Manager of Quality/Organizational Excellence and a certified Lean Six Sigma Green Belt. As the Operations and Quality Assurance Manager for the Pathology and Biorepository Core, she is responsible for managing procurement and distribution from VARI’s Biorepository as well as overseeing several of its large, multi-institutional contracts, including with NCI’s Clinical Proteomic Tumor Analysis Consortium (CPTAC), the Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance Biobank and the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation’s (MMRF) CoMMpass study. In addition to her responsibilities at VARI, she performs peer accreditation and inspections for the College of American Pathologists BAP Program.

Pathology and Biorepository Team

Bree Berghuis, B.S., HTL, QIHC (ASCP)
Alex Blanski, B.S.
Senior research technician
Adam Bouwman
Core inventory specialist
Melissa DeHollander, B.S., MBA
Quality assurance specialist
Brianne Docter, B.S.
Research technician
Kristin Feenstra, B.S.
Senior research technician
Sydney Hein, ASCP
Eric Hudson, B.S.
Senior research technician
Carrie Joynt, B.S., HT (ASCP)
Meghan Kirchoff, B.S.
Senior research technician
Lori Moon, Executive MBA
Senior administrative assistant
Chelsea Newton, B.S.
Laboratory project specialist
Lisa Turner, B.S., HT, QIHC (ASCP)